After a fair amount of research and trying to decide between staying in the City Bowl(heart of the city, Long Street, Kloof,Etc)or Camps Bay I came upon Sea Point and choose this location to base out of for the following reasons;

  • An ocean front Promenade with a walking/running path, cool Sculptures(Sunglasses, Rhino)a Gym(body weight) and the Sea Point Pavilion one of the largest outdoor Pool complex’s in the world.
  • Considered one of the safest hoods in Cape Town.
  • Good selection Restaurants near and not too long a walk from my Hotel
  • Ease of getting around to other major points via multiple MyCiti Bus stops and Taxi

I stayed at the Hyde Boutique Hotel, an all suite spot that has a rooftop pool with great views, buffet breakfast, Wi-Fi, a friendly top notch staff and a concierge desk that arranged great tours of Cape Point and the Vineyards for me(see upcoming blogs:)

During my stay I ate at Bistros, Gastro-Pubs, Coffee Shops and even did take out from a local chain one night. The highlights were the Mozz Tuna Melt with Rooibos Iced Tea at Knead, Iced and hot Coffee and a yummy dark chocolate orange cookie at Bootlegger Coffee, The Lamb Meatballs with spinach and pasta at La Boheme, the Ostrich Burger at Engruna(brand new Burger and pizza off-shoot of La Boheme) Kingklip with a Peach and Mint G nT at Harry’s at Winchester Mansion, Sundoo a brand new South Indian Tapas bar where I met Star Chef Seelan Sundoo and had the best Samosa’s and Pondicherry Curry I’ve ever had, hit Nandoo a Chain out of SA that specializes in tasty peri-peri chicken, had a pint of Castle Extra Cold at Le Vie at happy hour and on my last day from the food stalls by the Sea Point Pavilion I had a great Watermelon based juice blend from Toasted and a huge, juicy Boerewors(sausage) at Braai.

I highly recommend Sea Point as a great spot that is central, yet with a feeling of being away from it all while being in a local hood vs a tourist spot. When I told locals I was going for walks along the promenade, working out at the outdoor gym and doing laps(pool is huge, laps took a long time)at the Pavilion Pool they all would smile and say “now you are a Captonian” which I thought was pretty cool:)  
  
  








Leave a Reply

